Beth-El Congregation

Religious School Calendar

The following dates have been approved for the Religious School Calendar.  More information about sepcial events and activities will be announced on the home page.  Also a newsletter will be sent to your email box every week to keep you informed.

Please click here for a printable version.

 


August

Family Events
Friday, August 11
Kabbalat Shabbat
Friday, August 25
Kabbalat Shabbat
Sunday School Events
Sunday, August 20
10:00 am - 2:00 pm: Teacher Aides training, lunch, and setting up classrooms. Room teachers are invited to join from 12:30 - 2:00 pm.
Sunday, August 27
9:30 am - 4:00 pm: Teacher training and inservice.

September

Family Events
Friday, September 8
Kabbalat Shabbat
Thursday, September 21
9:30 am: Young Families Rosh Hashanah Service
Friday, September 22
5:30 pm: Shabbat Teshuvah Early Service
Saturday, September 30
9:30 am: Young Families Yom Kippur Service
Sunday School Events
Sunday, September 3
No Religious School
11:00 am - 1:00 pm: Religious School Kickoff Pool Party
12:15 pm: High School Parents' meeting
Sunday, September 10
First Day of Religious School
9:30 am - Coffee cake and Registration in the Gathering Area
9:45 am - Special family theme project in the classrooms
10:15 am - Sharing project and assembly in the Great Hall
10:40 am: Pancake Breakfast kick-off for the new year in the Great Hall
11:00 am - Students in class for a core class session and parents in the Great Hall for a presentation
12:00 pm - Hebrew School parents' meeting in the Great Hall
12:15 pm - Hebrew School begins
Sunday, September 17
10:30 am - 12:00 pm: 6th and 7th graders field trip to French Lake
11:30 am - 12:00 pm: 1st through 5th graders will have a Rosh Hashanah Mitzvah project.
Sunday, September 24
11:00 am - 12:30 pm: 8th through 10th graders field trip: Mitzvah project to clean cemetery.

October

Family Events
Friday, October 6
Young Families have fun in the Sukkah
Saturday, October 7
Bar Mitzvah of James Gilstrap
Wednesday, October 11
Simchat Torah/Consecration Service
5:15 pm: Dinner for Consecration families
6:15 pm: Consecration and Simchat Torah service
Friday, October 13
Kabbalat Shabbat
Friday, October 20 - Sunday October 22
NFTY-TOR Fall Conclave
Friday, October 27
Jewish Ghost Story Shabbat
Saturday, October 28
5th and 6th grade Shabbat
Sunday School Events
Sunday, October 1
Religious School/Hebrew School
8:30 - 9:15 am: Teachers' meeting
9:00 - 9:30 am - Teachers' Aides' meeting
Sunday, October 8
Religious School/Hebrew School
10:00 - 11:30 am: Pre-K through 3rd graders will go to a Community Sukkot at Ahavath Sholom
11:00 am - 12:00 pm: 4th - 7th graders will have a Torah scavenger hunt
Sunday, October 15
Religious School/Hebrew School
Sunday, October 22
Religious School/Hebrew School
Sunday, October 29
Religious School/Hebrew School

November

Family Events
Saturday, November 4
B'not Mitzvah of Chloe and Addison Feld
Friday, November 10
Kabbalat Shabbat
Saturday, November 11
Bat Mitzvah of Madison Matejka
Sunday School Events
Sunday, November 5
8:30 - 9:15 am: Teachers' meeting
9:00 - 9:30 am - Teachers' Aides' meeting
9:45 - 10:45 am: Family program, Sacharit service -- "Gratitude, not Attitude", and Teacher Appreciation Day
11:00 am - 12:00 pm: "Being Thankful" Program. Many of our parents are "community helpers" who bestow "100 blessings every day." We have firemen, policemen, doctors, nurses, and many others who will show the Religious School students what it means to be thankful for our everyday blessings.
Sunday, November 12
Religious School/Hebrew School
10:00 am - 12:00 pm: 4th - 6th graders field trip: Buses will be provided by the Federation. They will go to Beth Israel in Colleyville for their Tolerance Day program.
Sunday, November 19
No Religious School
Sunday, November 26
No Religious School

December

Family Events
Friday, December 1
Kabbalat Shabbat
Saturday, December 2
3:00 - 4:30 pm: Young Families Chanukah party
Friday, December 15
Synaplex and Young Families Chanukah dinner and program
Sunday School Events
Sunday, December 3
Religious School/Hebrew School
8:30 - 9:15 am: Teachers' meeting
9:00 - 9:30 am - Teachers' Aides' meeting
8th-10th grades fied trip to Corsicana
1st - 3rd grades field to a Senior Citizen home.
Sunday, December 10
Religious School/Hebrew School
11:00 am - 12:00 pm: All grades Chanukah assembly and party
Sunday, December 17
No Religious School
Sunday, December 24
No Religious School
Sunday, December 31
No Religious School

January

Family Events
Friday, January 5
Kabbalat Shabbat
Friday, January 19
Kabbalat Shabbat
Friday - Sunday, January 26-28
NFTY-TOR Winter Conclave
Saturday, January 27
Community Havdallah at the Temple
Sunday School Events
Sunday, January 7
Religious School/Hebrew School
8:30 - 9:15 am: Teachers' meeting
9:00 - 9:30 am - Teachers' Aides' meeting
Sunday January 14
Religious School/Hebrew School
Sunday, January 21
Religious School/Hebrew School
Sunday, January 28
Religious School/Hebrew School
10:00 - 10:30 am: Special musical program for young families
10:30 - 11:00 am: Special musical program for Pre-K - 3rd grade
11:00 - 11:30 am: Special musical program for 4th - 7th grades

February

Family Events
Friday - Sunday, February 2-4
Family Retreat at Greene Family Camp
Saturday, February 3
Bar Mitzvah of Bixby Klos
Friday, February 16
Kabbalat Shabbat
Wednesday, February 28
Erev Purim Party
Sunday School Events
Sunday, February 4
Religious School/Hebrew School
8:30 - 9:15 am: Teachers' meeting
9:00 - 9:30 am - Teachers' Aides' meeting
Sunday, February 11
Religious School/Hebrew School
Sunday, February 18
Religious School/Hebrew School
Sunday, February 25
Religious School/Hebrew School
10:00 am - 12:00 pm: 6th - 7th grades Purim field trip: Delivering "Mishloach Manot"
11:00 - 11:30 am: Pre-K - 5th grades Purim party in the Great Hall

March

Family Events
Friday, March 3
1st - 3rd Grades Shabbat Service
Sunday, March 4
12:30 - Community Purim Celebration
Friday, March 9
Kabbalat Shabbat
Saturday, March 24
11:00 am - 1:00 pm: Young families Matoh factory
Friday, March 30
Erev Pesach (No Shabbat Service)
Saturday, March 31
10:30 am: Pesach morning service
Saturday, March 31
6:00 pm: Community Second Night Seder
Sunday Events
Sunday, March 4
Religious School/Hebrew School
8:30 - 9:15 am: Teachers' meeting
9:00 - 9:30 am - Teachers' Aides' meeting
Sunday, March 11
No Religious School
Sunday, March 18
No Religious School
Sunday, March 25
Religious School/Hebrew School
Family Passover program in classrooms, 10:30 am - 12:00 pm

April

Family Events
Saturday, April 7
Bar Mitzvah of Zach Finkelstein
Friday, April 13 - Sunday April 15
GFC Spring Camp
Friday, April 13
Kabbalat Shabbat
Wednesday, April 18
6:30 pm - Yom Hazikaron
Sunday Events
Sunday, April 1
No Religious School
Sunday, April 8
Religious School/Hebrew School
8:30 - 9:15 am: Teachers' meeting
9:00 - 9:30 am - Teachers' Aides' meeting
11:30 am - 12:00 pm: 4th - 12th grades Yom HaShoa
Sunday, April 15
Religious School/Hebrew School
Sunday, April 22
Religious School
Yom Ha'atma'ut, 11:30 am - 12:00 pm - All grades celebration in the Sanctuary
No Hebrew School
Sunday, April 29
Religious School/Hebrew School

May

Family Events
Saturday, May 12
Religious School Service - "Honor your father and mother"
Friday, May 18
Kabbalat Shabbat
Saturday, May 26
Bar Mitzvah of Bradyn Engfer
Sunday Events
Sunday, May 6
Last Day of Religious School
Religious School/Hebrew School
8:30 - 9:15 am - Teachers' meeting
9:00 - 9:30 am - Teachers' Aides' meeting
9:30 - 10:30 am - Gathering for award ceremony and end-of-year assembly
11:00 am - All grades Lag B'omer celebration